Do You Need Permission To Succeed?


As a recent private practice consultation group that I was leading came to an end, we took a few minutes to celebrate the growth and successes of each group member. I asked what each group would take away from their consultation group.  One therapist turned to me and said, “Thank you for giving me the permission to succeed.”

I have never really thought about my private practice consulting services as giving colleagues “permission to succeed,” but it seemed to fit. I asked myself, “Where did I get the permission to succeed?”

As I thought about it, I realized that my dad had modeled for me personal and professional success. As a child, I watched his music career flourish, how much he was energized through self-expression, and how he was motivated to inspire others through his work. My Dad’s modeling taught me that I, too, could create a professional life where I could express myself, be creative when faced with challenges, and inspire to make positive change.

I grew up believing that everyone had permission to have an amazing, creative and fulfilling life. I think that’s partly what inspired this blog. I want you to create a thriving private mental health practice that fills you with joy, that works for your life, and that reflects who you are.

When I saw my Dad a few weeks ago, on Father’s Day, I made a point of thanking him for giving me permission to succeed. I let him know that I really valued that gift that he’d given to me — the belief that I could find success and personal fulfillment in my professional life.

Do you need permission to succeed in your private practice?

Permission granted.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Aicha on July 15, 2012 - 8:17 pm

    this post shows the information which is close to standard. hope next you will again post a nice article.http://www.fiboment.com

  2. #2 by Davis Holliday on July 26, 2012 - 8:55 am

    I just want to say I’m very new to blogging and site-building and truly liked this web site. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You really have remarkable stories. Thanks a bunch for revealing your web-site.

  3. #3 by check my reference on July 31, 2012 - 11:15 am

    go to my blog

  4. #4 by Risa Stepaniak on July 31, 2012 - 1:04 pm

    Thanks for your publication. I would like to comment that the very first thing you will need to do is determine if you really need repairing credit. To do that you will have to get your hands on a replica of your credit rating. That should really not be difficult, since government necessitates that you are allowed to be issued one totally free copy of your actual credit report every year. You just have to consult the right men and women. You can either browse the website for that Federal Trade Commission and also contact one of the main credit agencies immediately.

  5. #5 by nyc commercial cleaning on July 31, 2012 - 10:42 pm

    I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

  6. #6 by nyc commercial cleaning on July 31, 2012 - 11:14 pm

    Very nice info and straight to the point. I don’t know if this is actually the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks in advance 🙂

  7. #7 by Keenan Pomrenke on August 1, 2012 - 1:01 am

    I feel that is among the most vital info for me. And i am glad studying your article. But want to statement on some basic things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really great :D. Good process, cheers.

  8. #8 by Rex Hebrank on August 1, 2012 - 2:10 pm

    I conceive this site has got some real excellent info for everyone :D. “Experience is not what happens to you it’s what you do with what happens to you.” by Aldous Huxley.

  9. #9 by Vernon Passineau on August 1, 2012 - 11:45 pm

    Perfectly written content , appreciate it for selective information .

  10. #10 by Purchasing Apparel Wholesale on August 2, 2012 - 6:29 am

    Great post, I think website owners should learn a lot from this website its rattling user pleasant. “A happy childhood has spoiled many a promising life.” by Robertson Davies.

  11. #11 by real estate on August 2, 2012 - 12:11 pm

    I’ve recently started a website, the information you offer on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  12. #12 by Masters of Public Health on August 2, 2012 - 12:35 pm

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  13. #13 by Illinois Whitetail Hunts on August 2, 2012 - 1:06 pm

    I am really impressed along with your writing skills as neatly as with the format on your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a nice blog like this one these days..

  14. #14 by lose weight on August 2, 2012 - 6:40 pm

    Your place is valueble for me. Thanks!…

  15. #15 by avenndi on August 2, 2012 - 6:56 pm

    I’d have to check with you here. Which is not one thing I usually do! I get pleasure from reading a publish that can make folks think. Also, thanks for permitting me to remark!

  16. #16 by click here on August 2, 2012 - 7:36 pm

    Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is actually annoying. A good website with exciting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  17. #17 by MyBln on August 2, 2012 - 8:00 pm

    wonderful issues altogether, you simply won a new reader. What would you suggest about your put up that you made some days ago? Any sure?

  18. #18 by caravan parks north wales on August 2, 2012 - 8:26 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It really useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to provide one thing back and help others such as you aided me.

  19. #19 by shop for shop on August 3, 2012 - 1:00 pm

    I love your writing style really loving this site. “Sometimes a scream is better than a thesis.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

  20. #20 by 91 Travel Guide on August 3, 2012 - 10:22 pm

    I regard something really interesting about your weblog so I saved to fav.

  21. #21 by psychology on August 4, 2012 - 10:45 am

    Thanks for another informative web site. Where else may I get that type of information written in such an ideal manner? I’ve a mission that I am just now running on, and I’ve been at the look out for such info.

  22. #22 by Oahure on August 4, 2012 - 12:13 pm

    Something more important is that while looking for a good internet electronics store, look for online shops that are continuously updated, retaining up-to-date with the most recent products, the most effective deals, and helpful information on goods and services. This will ensure that you are handling a shop that stays over the competition and gives you what you should need to make intelligent, well-informed electronics acquisitions. Thanks for the crucial tips I have really learned from the blog.

  23. #23 by toko tas murah online on August 4, 2012 - 1:43 pm

    Outstanding post, I believe website owners should acquire a lot from this web site its really user pleasant. So much excellent info on here :D.

  24. #24 by fast cash loans on August 4, 2012 - 10:54 pm

    Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for! “He who spares the wicked injures the good.” by Seneca.

  25. #25 by new house floor plans on August 5, 2012 - 3:29 am

    I gotta favorite this site it seems handy very useful

  26. #26 by metal roofing ontario on August 5, 2012 - 5:15 pm

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  27. #27 by stretch film on August 5, 2012 - 6:24 pm

    I think this internet site has very great composed content articles.

  28. #28 by green coffee beans on August 5, 2012 - 7:00 pm

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  29. #29 by degrees on August 5, 2012 - 8:48 pm

    I’ve been surfing online greater than three hours today, yet I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  30. #30 by motorbike leather jackets on August 5, 2012 - 9:34 pm

    Very interesting subject, regards for putting up.

  31. #31 by William Riveras on August 6, 2012 - 11:07 am

    I feel that is one of the most vital information for me. And i am glad studying your article. However wanna observation on some normal things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is in reality great : D. Just right process, cheers

  32. #32 by fuelpenguintest on August 6, 2012 - 2:16 pm

    hey there and thank you in your info – I have definitely picked up something new from right here. I did on the other hand expertise a few technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site many instances previous to I could get it to load properly. I were puzzling over in case your web hosting is OK? No longer that I am complaining, however slow loading cases times will very frequently impact your placement in google and can damage your high-quality ranking if ads and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Anyway I’m including this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot extra of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this once more very soon..

  33. #33 by site on August 6, 2012 - 3:29 pm

    This website is very good! How was it made .

  34. #34 by James Gibson on August 6, 2012 - 7:49 pm

    Keep up the great piece of work, I read few articles on this internet site and I believe that your web site is real interesting and contains lots of fantastic information.

  35. #35 by prawo krakow on August 7, 2012 - 2:13 am

    One other issue is when you are in a situation where you would not have a co-signer then you may genuinely wish to try to exhaust all of your federal funding options. You could find many grants and other scholarships that will give you funding to assist with classes expenses. Thank you for the post.

  36. #36 by Form on August 7, 2012 - 8:16 am

    Keep up the wonderful work , I read few articles on this website and I conceive that your web blog is very interesting and holds lots of good information.

  37. #37 by Zeus Mortgage on August 7, 2012 - 10:36 am

    magnificent points altogether, you just gained a new reader. What could you recommend about your submit that you made some days in the past? Any certain?

  38. #38 by Zeus Mortgage on August 7, 2012 - 12:24 pm

    I would also like to add if you do not now have an insurance policy or maybe you do not form part of any group insurance, you might well benefit from seeking aid from a health insurance broker. Self-employed or those that have medical conditions ordinarily seek the help of an health insurance agent. Thanks for your post.

  39. #39 by how to get ripped fast on August 7, 2012 - 1:05 pm

    Hello there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

  40. #40 by niemiecki lublin on August 7, 2012 - 2:34 pm

    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  41. #41 by ebook online on August 7, 2012 - 5:57 pm

    I just want to say I am all new to blogging and definitely liked your blog site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You really come with incredible articles. Thanks for revealing your web page.

  42. #42 by earning extra money from home in singapore on August 7, 2012 - 6:14 pm

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  43. #43 by Very best on August 7, 2012 - 10:54 pm

    Real great information can be found on blog .

  44. #44 by this site on August 7, 2012 - 11:35 pm

    Very good post. I study 1 issue tougher on fully distinct blogs daily. It would all the time be stimulating to study content material from other writers and apply a bit one particular thing from their retailer. I’d favor to create use of some using the content material on my weblog no matter if or not you don’t thoughts. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink within your net weblog. Thanks for sharing.

  45. #45 by data recovery mac on August 8, 2012 - 11:32 am

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

  46. #46 by static caravans for sale north wales on August 8, 2012 - 1:00 pm

    I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy invaluable.

  47. #47 by Convert MOD to DVD on August 8, 2012 - 6:47 pm

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I抣l make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  48. #48 by my blog on August 8, 2012 - 7:38 pm

    Generally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice post.

  1. Permitting Yourself to Success « makethea

Leave a Reply...

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

Lateral Love

"The time is always right to do what is right" ~ Martin Luther King Jr

The Curse Of The Single Parent

A little blog about the ramblings of a single parent.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

lifeofbun

The bun scrolls

Blah Blah Blog

You'll thank me later

Psychological Espresso

A regular shot of psychological thought

NOM's adventures

NOM's journey through this awesome thing called life

Psychie blog

just awesome blog on mental health

Mirth and Motivation

Motivate. Elevate. Laugh. Live Positively...

Russel Ray Photos

Life from Southern California, mostly San Diego County

The Sunset Blog

Inspirational sunset & nature photos by Psychic healer Eva Tenter

Wisdom is Found Through Experience

le Silence de Sion © 2012-2014

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Tarot Salve

Any perception can connect us to reality, properly and fully. What we see doesn't have to be pretty, particularly; we can appreciate anything that exists. There is some principle of magic in everything, some living quality. Something living, something real, is taking place in everything. --Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche

